New York Society
of Interventional Pain Physicians


NYSIPP’s mission is physician, patient, government and payer education and advocacy that supports delivery of effective, safe and appropriate practice of interventional pain medicine by NY State physicians to improve the function and quality of life of their patients.

The New York Society of Interventional Pain Physicians (NYSIPP) was formed in 2010 and has developed into a premier pain society for pain physicians practicing in NY state that aims to educate the public, physicians, allied health practitioners and New York state’s government and health insurance officials about accessible, effective and safe multimodal pain medicine specialty care that aims to improve the physical and psychosocial function of the patients that we serve.

NYSIPP is a state chapter of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians (ASIPP). However, just like our parent organization, we are not just about interventions. Through it’s educational and political activities, NYSIPP advocates to enable patients ready access to pain medicine practices to allow NY state citizens the care that they need. Through our local and NY state-level educational, legislative, carrier advisory activities, peer-reviewed publications and with the help of our colleagues in NJ and surrounding states, we make your voice heard where it needs to be heard.


Sudhir Diwan, MD
Executive Director


Robert Tiso, MD

Karina Gritsenko, MD

Hemant Kalia, MD
Vice President

Neel Mehta, MD

Edward Rubin, MD
Past President & Treasurer

Brian Durkin, MD

Christopher Gharibo, MD
Past President

Kenneth Chapman, MD
Immediate Past-President

Political Action Committee

Kenneth Chapman, MD
Sudhir Diwan, MD
Christopher Gharibo, MD
Edward Rubin, MD
Robert Tiso, MD

Council of Residents /


at Large

Gerald Degregoris, MD
Luis Fandos, MD
Aruna Julie Sahoo, MD
Anne Marie Stillwell, MD
Kristopher Padjen, MD
Scott Maddalo, MD


Sandra Vamos
Bea Golovanova

Advocacy & Policy

Hemant Kalia, MD

Board members:
Robert Tiso, MD
Edward Rubin, MD
Sam Nia, MD
Eugene Wang, MD